KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: KnowBrainer 2017 self deleting commands
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/26/2020 11:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 KnowBrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - rob - 06/26/2020 11:11 AM  
 knowbrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - rob - 06/26/2020 01:35 PM  
 knowbrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/27/2020 02:47 AM  
 knowbrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - rob - 06/27/2020 10:17 AM  
 knowbrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - rob - 06/27/2020 10:53 AM  
 KnowBrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - MTreloar - 06/28/2020 10:33 AM  
 KnowBrainer 2017 self deleting commands   - rob - 06/28/2020 02:38 PM  
Keyword
 06/26/2020 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


rob
Senior Member

Posts: 155
Joined: 11/29/2006

Hi,

Knowbrainer 2017 is deleting some of the custom commands that I create for it. I'm not sure how long it takes to happen, but I've noticed the next day a couple of times now. This has happened at least 3 times now, I replace the commands again and the next day they are gone again.

Anyone else had this happen?

Thanks,
Rob



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Group 15.6 with knowbrainer 2017 professional and speech start.



 06/26/2020 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


rob
Senior Member

Posts: 155
Joined: 11/29/2006

I have realised that the knowbrainer commands that are disappearing are following this pattern. I create them and then click save, they show in the knowbrainer sidebar and they deploy correctly repeatedly. But I then backup the MyKBCommands.xml file then check the contents of it to see if the command has been saved in that file and they are not there.

So whenever knowbrainer is restarted the command no longer appears in the sidebar and does not deploy unless I create the command again.

Any idea why these commands are not saving to the XML file, but show in the knowbrainer sidebar and deploy when created?

The 3 commands that do not save to the file are 'Open', 'Search' and 'pause'. I have some commands with similar names that did save and worked correctly 'Open', 'Searchfor'.

Do you think these commands are not saving to the XML file because the names are too similar to other command names?

I have plenty of other commands that have similar names to others that work though.

There was also another command that previously did not save to the XML file, but now has and I have no idea why.

Any ideas what's going on?



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Group 15.6 with knowbrainer 2017 professional and speech start.



 06/27/2020 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 37607
Joined: 10/01/2006

We are aware of the situation and added it to our to do list about 18 months ago. Unfortunately, this problem is difficult to track down because it is a fairly rare event. Nevertheless, we have verified this bug.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 06/27/2020 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


rob
Senior Member

Posts: 155
Joined: 11/29/2006

Ah I see, is there any suggested fix that worked for anyone?

-------------------------

Dragon Professional Group 15.6 with knowbrainer 2017 professional and speech start.

 06/27/2020 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


rob
Senior Member

Posts: 155
Joined: 11/29/2006

Hi,

Is it this file I should check to see if my commands are saved C:\Users\'user name'\AppData\Roaming\KnowBrainer\KnowBrainerCommands\MyKBCommands.xml or the ones in the Status Changes file too?

Thanks,
Rob

-------------------------

Dragon Professional Group 15.6 with knowbrainer 2017 professional and speech start.

 06/28/2020 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


MTreloar
Senior Member

Posts: 123
Joined: 12/05/2010

For a few years, I have had the same problem. It does not follow any pattern (unlike what you have mentioned). My workaround is
1. restart KB (and Dragon) before I start coding or changing a KB custom command.
2. copy and paste the command into a parallel Word document so that I have a copy
3. after 4 or so edits or new custom commands, I restart KB and Dragon. If the customizations are missing, no problem - just cut and paste to a new custom command instance.
Others on the forum have mentioned the problem, Mark as I recall.
Murray

-------------------------

DPI 15/DMPE 4, KB2017, SpeechProductivity 5 std, Win10x64 (1909), Xeon E3 2.8GHz 64GB DDR4, Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3; Behringer Uphoria UM2, AKG HSC271 mic

 06/28/2020 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


rob
Senior Member

Posts: 155
Joined: 11/29/2006

Hi,

I think the commands are saving ok now. There was one particular command 'Open' that was too similarly named to another command, that caused the problems I think. When there is a problem with saving a command it will appear to be saved in C:\Users\'username'\AppData\Roaming\KnowBrainer\KnowBrainerCommands\StatusChanges\MyKBCommands_withAmendedCommands.xml but not in C:\Users\'user name'\AppData\Roaming\KnowBrainer\KnowBrainerCommands\MyKBCommands.xml.

If it starts to play up again I will try your advice @MTreloar.

Thanks,
Rob

-------------------------

Dragon Professional Group 15.6 with knowbrainer 2017 professional and speech start.

Statistics
31670 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 4473 on 07/17/2020 at 10:00 AM.
There are currently 438 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 438 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.