KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need Help with AppBringUp Command
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/08/2022 07:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - Omer - 07/08/2022 07:33 PM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/08/2022 07:48 PM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - harpalus - 07/09/2022 02:13 AM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - dilligence - 07/09/2022 09:23 AM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - Alan Cantor - 07/09/2022 10:05 AM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - Omer - 07/11/2022 07:29 PM  
 Need Help with AppBringUp Command   - Mav - 07/12/2022 02:00 AM  
Keyword
 07/08/2022 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omer
New Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/13/2022

Hi everyone.

I have what’s probably a simple question for someone who knows the answer: I’m stuck when it comes to making the command AppBringUp work for a document. This is the code I’m using:

AppBringUp "C:\Users\omerg\Desktop\Job applications\Cover letter test.doc"

I just copied and pasted the file path name, but I’m getting an error message saying that the file isn’t found. I tried a different Word document in another folder and got the same result. AppBringUp is working fine for websites.

Thanks,

Omer

 07/08/2022 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40113
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try right clicking on any file or folder on your desktop followed by clicking Properties for the actual address.

 

Try AppBringUp "C:\Users\omerg\OneDrive\Desktop\Job applications\Cover letter test.docx



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 07/09/2022 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harpalus
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 224
Joined: 10/05/2008

There are 2 ways to have Windows put the file path into the clipboard for you. 1.Hold down the shift key while right clicking on the file in question. Then select the option of copy as file path. Windows will put the file path into the clipboard. 2. Alternatively, you can highlight the desired file in file Explorer, hold down the shift key and press F10. You can then type the letter "a" to get the file path into the clipboard. Once the clipboard contains the correct file path, you can simply paste the file path into your script.

I have a script with 168 Files and their different file paths and when I invoke the Script with the name of a desired file, it always successfully uses AppBringUp to open the desired file unless I have moved that file somewhere else and forgotten to change the file path. I suggest always having Windows obtain the file path for you because it's easy and avoids typing errors. Also, I noticed that the extension for the file you want is "doc", might the actual extension of the file be "docx"? The latter extension is the type typically used by Microsoft Word versions released in 2007 onwards.

If you regularly need to obtain file paths, the short script below will obtain it once you have selected the desired file in file Explorer. You might have to change the wait value depending on your system.


Sub Main
SendKeys "+{F10}"
Wait 0.3
SendKeys "a"
End Sub

-------------------------

GaryN

 07/09/2022 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1564
Joined: 08/16/2010

I use the "Copy as path" option on a daily basis. In Windows 11 it is always visible in the Windows Explorer context menu (at least on my system).

 

Having to hold down the Shift key in Windows 10 may introduce a problem to hands-free users. If you like you can make it always visible with the registry file provided here: 

 

https://winaero.com/get-copy-path-always-visible-in-context-menu-in-windows-10/#:~:text=Alternatively%2C%20you%20can%20press%20and,hold%20down%20the%20Shift%20key.



-------------------------

https://speechproductivity.eu


Turbocharge your Dragon® productivity with 40 Power Addons



 07/09/2022 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4382
Joined: 12/08/2007

Copy Path sometimes appears on the context menu, and sometimes doesn't. I have no idea why!

But "Copy path" always appears on the Home ribbon. So this script might be a little more reliable:

Sub Main
SendKeys "{F10}" ' Place focus on the ribbon
SendKeys "h" ' Activate "Home"
Wait 0.3 ' Delay to give time for the Home ribbon to open
SendKeys "cp" ' Output accelerator for "Copy path"
End Sub

(I wrote this for Windows 10. I'm not sure the accelerator is the same in Windows 7, 8, and 11).
 07/11/2022 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omer
New Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/13/2022

Thanks for your help everyone! It turned out that I should have used ".docx" instead of ".doc" which I discovered after getting the full filepath. -Omer
 07/12/2022 02:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 541
Joined: 10/02/2008

Yeah, the Windows default setting to hide file extensions is a PITA and the first thing I turn off at each machine I get to.

Glad you figured it out!

 

mav

Statistics
32359 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 277 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 279 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.