KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New to software development and coding using speech recognition?
Topic Summary: Where to start when you're new to the sector and will need to code by voice?
Created On: 10/15/2020 01:49 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Keyword
 10/15/2020 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samVanDerStoop

I apologize if there are more appropriate places, forums to ask these questions.

I’m interested in studying software engineering and development, but I’m completely new to it and because of physical disabilities I would have to be able to code and program using my voice/eye tracking. I’ve spent the past few days discovering what’s out there in the world of coding by voice and I have a number of questions I’m hoping to get answered. I understand there might not be clear-cut answers to some of these, but because I’m completely new to the sector any kind of helpful information, personal thoughts based on more experience, or good resources would be very much appreciated.

Upfront, I would like to specify that I use Windows 10 and Dragon NaturallySpeaking 15 at the moment, and I wish to first explore the available possibilities that come with those before considering switching to other operating systems (though I understand Mac and Linux are common in programming) or other speech recognition engines.

My first and main question is if there is any consensus on the subject of coding by voice, generally accepted knowledge I ought to be aware of, up front? I would hate to waste time and resources on things if there are clearly better alternatives out there simply because I’m not aware of them.