KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Explorer++
Topic Summary: A completely voice driven file manager option
Created On: 10/18/2020 07:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Explorer++   - Edgar - 10/18/2020 07:14 PM  
 Explorer++   - kkkwj - 10/18/2020 11:38 PM  
 Explorer++   - Edgar - 10/19/2020 12:15 PM  
 Explorer++   - kkkwj - 10/19/2020 04:35 PM  
 Explorer++   - Edgar - 10/19/2020 05:22 PM  
 Explorer++   - kkkwj - 10/20/2020 07:21 AM  
Keyword
 10/18/2020 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 985
Joined: 04/03/2009

In another thread I mentioned my highly customized version of Explorer++ 1.3.5:
You can view the message at http://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=3&threadid=34973&forumid=1

kkkwj tried out the application and had some questions. The first was about fonts and I had a quick and easy answer which I left in that thread. The second was:

Originally posted by: kkkwjThe app crashes whenever I right-click on a tab and choose New Tab. The current tab is Desktop (same behavior if the current tab is a Dropbox folder). I rearranged the choice and order of columns to (Modified, Size, and Name), but that probably shouldn't matter.

I cannot get the application to miss behave in this manner on my PC. I'm wondering if you have a network attached? I do not have a network attached file system to test but I have heard rumors that Explorer++ has problems with networks. I'm also wondering if you have the Treeview displayed. I don't like the Treeview and when I first started seriously using the application I turned it off/closed it. Subsequently I discovered that there was no way to turn it back on! I have "create a “turn the Treeview back on button”" in my list of "things to do" but it's at the very bottom.



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 10/18/2020 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 11/05/2015

Hi Edgar, Yes, my machine is on a network. Yes, I had the treeview window open. I thought of making a little video for you, but I didn't because I thought bugs in the app were not your responsibility and the video probably wouldn't help anyway. It sounds from your comments that there is more than one bug in the software... :-)

-------------------------

Win10/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X, 64GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 6 PRO, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones

 10/19/2020 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 985
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: kkkwj  I thought bugs in the app were not your responsibility

This version is so highly customized that bugs are my responsibility. That being said, the network bug/s is/are long-standing (pre-me) and David (the original programmer) has no access to a network (neither do I) so neither of us can work on it/them effectively. There's another programmer, active on the Explorer++ forum, who is on a network and who has - seemingly - fixed at least the main problem with network attachment. Unfortunately, his solution is embedded in a customized version and I have not even tried to dig it out.

As for the Treeview problems, David’s current beta (my code is based on version 1.3.5, he is on 1.4.0 which is many years newer but far less stable) has fixed some (most/many?) of these. I've already got over 3 years of full-time development invested in 1.3.5 and 1.4.0 is radically different so not worth upgrading with my bug fixes and enhancements.

Other bugs - obviously, with this much code (and reliance on a number of outside libraries) there are going to be bugs and needed features! When I say to myself "It sure would be nice if it did…" I almost always add that ability. I keep a very strict log of bugs and rate them on a scale of: crashing; serious; annoying; obscure & trivial. I don't always fix the obscure nor trivial right away but anything else gets banged on almost immediately.

As for your crashing bug, try this: open the Options dialog (menu item Tools> sub item Options…); on the General tab, about 1/3 of the way down, there is an entry for "Default new tab folder:"; next to the text entry field is a browse button. Use said browse button to pick a folder or a drive which is NOT at the other end of the network. See if that resolves the problem.



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 10/19/2020 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 11/05/2015

Hi Edgar, thank you for your long reply and the background information on versions and bugs. The default new tab location set in options was H:\my\dropbox\somefolder, and I interpreted your "on a network" phrase to include the local copy of my dropbox folder. The app crashed with that setting using Actions/NewTab (from the menu bar) and right-click-duplicate-tab (on a tab).


After changing the default new tab folder to c:\some\folder, the app crashed just the same with the NewTab and DuplicateTab operations. I disabled the TreeView, made the current tab Desktop, and both right-click NewTab and right-click Duplicate Tab crashed the app.


Please don't waste any more time on the issue on my behalf; in the very best case, you (and me, I suppose) will have to spend time fixing a bug in the app that apparently only affects me. I do have a few other workarounds with other apps, so it's not a showstopper for me.

If I can help you out by trying new versions from you from time to time to see if you (or someone) has fixed the bug, I'm happy to invest that much time. But I admit that the thought of investing all the time to install the various third party libraries and build the c++ solution to see if I can get it to crash in vstudio is not very appealing. :-)

 

I only get a few hours a week to work on dev stuff, so I'd rather spend the precious hours on other scripts and dev tasks to move other things forward.



-------------------------

Win10/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X, 64GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 6 PRO, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones



 10/19/2020 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 985
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: kkkwj  Please don't waste any more time on the issue on my behalf

I hear you on this! I haven't done any serious development on it in about 2 years. The coding paradigm is antiquated and the GUI was built with some custom tool which makes adding things like new menu items and buttons difficult and time-consuming. Maybe if I was 30 years younger I would start from scratch with a C# .NET application <grin>!



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 10/20/2020 07:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 11/05/2015

Yay C#! My thoughts exactly! But thank you for making it available anyway.

-------------------------

Win10/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X, 64GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 6 PRO, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones

Statistics
31886 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 442 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 446 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.