KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: can't "access profile"
Topic Summary: error message: profile cannot be accessed"
Created On: 10/28/2020 03:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 can't "access profile"   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 03:54 PM  
 can't "access profile"   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/28/2020 04:03 PM  
 can't "access profile"   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 04:17 PM  
 can't   - R. Wilke - 10/28/2020 04:19 PM  
 can't   - Matt_Chambers - 10/28/2020 04:35 PM  
 can't access profile   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 04:58 PM  
 can't access profile   - Matt_Chambers - 10/28/2020 05:06 PM  
 can't access profile   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 05:30 PM  
 can't access profile   - Mav - 10/29/2020 03:31 AM  
 can't access profile   - Matt_Chambers - 10/29/2020 09:56 AM  
 can't access profile   - Mav - 10/29/2020 11:01 AM  
 can't access profile   - GeorgetheWriter - 11/27/2020 08:29 AM  
 can't "access profile"   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 04:36 PM  
 can't   - R. Wilke - 10/28/2020 04:38 PM  
 can't access profile   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/28/2020 04:55 PM  
 can't   - GeorgetheWriter - 11/27/2020 08:38 AM  
 can't   - Mav - 11/30/2020 02:02 AM  
 can't   - GeorgetheWriter - 11/30/2020 06:04 PM  
Keyword
 10/28/2020 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Getting un-numbered error msg (see attachment) in Dragon 15.3 individual: 

“The user profile you have selected cannot be accessed.  This could because  you do not have sufficient privileges to use it or because it is currently being accessed by another program.”

Can't get past the error message; it's a show stopper. 

Message occurs at random times.  Rerbooting allows me to start DPI 15.3 without the error message, but it pops again later.

 

Help! George W, NJ USA






-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/28/2020 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38351
Joined: 10/01/2006

This is a Windows rights issue. Whenever you have any problem, try rebooting. If that doesn't work, you can move your user profile but better yet, you can upgrade to Ver. 15.6 which will automatically move your user profile to a new location while upgrading. In other words 2 birds with one stone. We just emailed you a download



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 10/28/2020 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

thanks. am downloading 15.6 now.

Was this error caused when I began Exporting my profile to an External USB hard drive?



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/28/2020 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7386
Joined: 03/04/2007

Yes, George, most likely, because you were pointing to the profile folder, which keeps Dragon from loading it while the folder is being pointed to. Other than that, let's just go on discussing the stuff we are talking about.


-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 10/28/2020 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: R. Wilke Yes, George, most likely, because you were pointing to the profile folder, which keeps Dragon from loading it while the folder is being pointed to. Other than that, let's just go on discussing the stuff we are talking about.

Definitely.  If you have your profile open in Windows Explorer or another file manager, you'll get that error message.

 10/28/2020 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Let me see if I understand this correctly:

 

The problem will disappear if I reboot each time after I Export my profile to the external USB drive, thus disconnecting from the pointer to the profile which is causing the problem?  Which would mean also that there is no real need for me to upgrade to DPI 15.6 at this time?

 

Please let me know if I've got this right.



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/28/2020 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: GeorgetheWriter Let me see if I understand this correctly:

 

 

 

The problem will disappear if I reboot each time after I Export my profile to the external USB drive, thus disconnecting from the pointer to the profile which is causing the problem?  Which would mean also that there is no real need for me to upgrade to DPI 15.6 at this time?

 

 

 

Please let me know if I've got this right.

 

Yes, the problem should disappear if you do that. It also should disappear if you close out whatever program is pointing to the profile. You should not have to reboot.

 10/28/2020 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Thank you, Matt!

 

What I'm finding is that the only program I think of that is pointing to the profile folder is Windows 10 File Explorer.  Closing that does not solve the problem however. 

So I'm rebooting. And I've concluded that I have no need at this time to update to DPI 15.6. Thanks everyone!



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/29/2020 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 262
Joined: 10/02/2008

In order to check whether Dragon has exclusive access to your speaker profile directory, it tries renaming the folder.

This fails if any application holds a so-called "handle" on the directory or a file within.

Since Dragon doesn't check and report which application as access to your profile folder, you can basically burn everything to the ground by re-booting or find out which application in particular is the culprid.

 

SysInternal's Process Explorer, for example, has a function "find handle" where you can type in (part of) your profile directory and it will tell you which application(s) currently hold a handle on something in this directory (thus keeping the folder from being renamed).

Once you know which application is to blame you can selectively close this application without having to reboot.

 

hth,

mav

 10/29/2020 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: GeorgetheWriter Thank you, Matt!

 

 

 

What I'm finding is that the only program I think of that is pointing to the profile folder is Windows 10 File Explorer.  Closing that does not solve the problem however. 

 

So I'm rebooting. And I've concluded that I have no need at this time to update to DPI 15.6. Thanks everyone!

 

Sometimes it seems that the pointing to the profile folder is sticky and doesn't immediately get released on closing file Explorer. Sometimes I move the focus of the File Explorer to another folder that seems to help.  Mav's suggestion is a good one.

 10/29/2020 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 262
Joined: 10/02/2008

Another quick note on Windows Explorer:

By default there's only one process "explorer.exe" because Windows uses this process for displaying the desktop as well as for browsing your file system in multiple windows.

In this case, closing one window might not lead to the handle being freed immediately.

 

But there's a switch inside Explorer's options to open each new window in a separate process which I strongly advise to use. That way, all handles an Explorer window/process holds get released when the process is closed and if a shell extension in one process runs amok this won't drag your whole desktop into oblivion.

 

hth,

mav

 11/27/2020 08:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Mav:  this "File Explorer Options"" adjustment looks interesting. Do you mean I should select the "open each folder in its own window" option in File Explorer Options?  Or?

 

George



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/28/2020 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

"let's just go on discussing the stuff we are talking about"  meaning?  [unclear]



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/28/2020 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7386
Joined: 03/04/2007

Not so unclear from my perspective.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 10/28/2020 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Had a brain freeze... Please disregard my message reading ""let's just go on discussing the stuff we are talking about"  meaning?  [unclear]"



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 11/27/2020 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

I think I found it...it's the "Launch folder windows in a separate process" option in File Explorer Options/View tab? Please confirm?

-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 11/30/2020 02:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 262
Joined: 10/02/2008

Yes.

That way 1 explorer window equals 1 separate process (you can verify with task manager).

Now if you open an explorer window, use this to copy your profile to a USB drive and close the window again, the corresponding process gets closed as well, taking all open file- and directory handles with it.

 

If you copy your profile on a regular basis, a small batch file on your desktop could make things a lot easier and doesn't impose the threat of holding any handles to Dragon directories.

 

hth,

mav

 11/30/2020 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 08/29/2010

Thanks, Mav, I did as you suggest.

And, with regard to my original "can't access profile" problem, it's gone away! Not entirely sure why, but I'm not arguing. George

 



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Speech Recognition » can't "access profile"

Statistics
31883 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 464 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 465 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.