KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I cannot open text & WordPad docs shortcuts or create a new profile after installing DPI 15.6
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/06/2020 11:22 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 11/06/2020 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dbassman
Senior Member

Posts: 147
Joined: 09/30/2007

I have some text & WordPad docs shortcuts on my desktop that I use regularly, (see attached) but for some reason since I installed the new version of Dragon they no longer work. When I say "open memo" (or any of the other the shortcuts) it just opens a blank untitled notepad or WordPad, but if I use the mouse to double-click on them they will open. Problem is they are usually buried behind opened programs so I have minimize all of them to double-click on one of them. How can I get them open by just saying "open file name"? I tried re-creating the shortcut, and also saying "start and/or show shortcut name" and that didn't work either.

 

I tried to create a new profile, but when I got to the point where I had to read the text for Dragon to recognize my voice it never completed. I read the entire text 2 times and it never completed.






-------------------------

Dragon Pro Individual 15 - KnowBrainer 2017 - VoiceComputer

Dektop:  INTEL i7-2600k  3.40GHz Quad-Core, 16 GB RAM, 10.25TB HD Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Andrea USB soundcard, TableMike 9.1

Laptop: Dell Precision M4700, Intel Core i7 3.2GHz, 32GB DDR3 RAM,  250GB SSD HD, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, SpeechWare USB MultiAdapter, TwistMike
________________________________________________
http://www.FishingAbilities.com
http://www.DansFishinHole.com

 11/06/2020 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PG LTU
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 2116
Joined: 03/21/2007

Known issue (command line parameters do not get passed when Dragon runs a shortcut, and so only the underlying application opens but without the specific file). Discussed and a solution provided here:
Discussion: http://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Linear&catid=4&threadid=34137
Solution: http://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=4&threadid=34137&messid=176395&parentid=176353&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Single

Bottom line: Instead of "open [shortcut name]" start with "show desktop" and then just say "click [shortcut name]" and then "press enter." Or you don't need the "click" part maybe.



-------------------------




PG





Remember folks, my comments and this forum are for entertainment value only, please, no wagering or other reliance on the contents herein.  I permit no commercial use of my ideas (whether expressions or embodiments) without my written consent.



 11/07/2020 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dbassman
Senior Member

Posts: 147
Joined: 09/30/2007

Thanks PG... I think I might try Lunis's fix 1st (the 1st reply in the discussion) as I don't like the idea of having to minimize all my running programs to have to open 1 of my shortcuts. I appreciate your reply though!

-------------------------

Dragon Pro Individual 15 - KnowBrainer 2017 - VoiceComputer

Dektop:  INTEL i7-2600k  3.40GHz Quad-Core, 16 GB RAM, 10.25TB HD Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Andrea USB soundcard, TableMike 9.1

Laptop: Dell Precision M4700, Intel Core i7 3.2GHz, 32GB DDR3 RAM,  250GB SSD HD, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, SpeechWare USB MultiAdapter, TwistMike
________________________________________________
http://www.FishingAbilities.com
http://www.DansFishinHole.com

Statistics
31891 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 576 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 576 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.