KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dragon 15 "Read That" issues
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/10/2020 11:32 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Dragon 15 "Read That" issues   - Alexxis - 11/10/2020 11:32 AM  
 Dragon 15 "Read That" issues   - dilligence - 11/10/2020 11:59 AM  
 Dragon 15 "Read That" issues   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/10/2020 12:56 PM  
 Dragon 15   - Edgar - 11/11/2020 10:48 AM  
 Dragon 15   - R. Wilke - 11/11/2020 12:30 PM  
 Dragon 15   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/11/2020 11:37 AM  
 Dragon 15   - Alexxis - 11/12/2020 05:30 AM  
 Dragon 15   - dilligence - 11/12/2020 09:28 AM  
 Dragon 15 "Read That" issues   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/12/2020 06:32 PM  
 Dragon 15   - R. Wilke - 11/13/2020 02:12 AM  
Keyword
 11/10/2020 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alexxis
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/10/2020

Hey everyone,

I've got 2 questions regarding Dragons "Read That" TTS command:

1. Is it true that Dragon can't TTS anything from Google Sheets, regardless of where I highlight text?

2. Is there a way to let Dragon Read out something that is in the Clipboard? (This would be a workaround for the first question)

At the moment I just copy the Text to a Notepad or Word document and from there the "Read That" command works consistently.

Thanks in advance.

 11/10/2020 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1224
Joined: 08/16/2010

You are correct Dragon TTS does not work everywhere. If you are looking for a good alternative you may be interested in Speaker which is featured in both SP Standard and SP PRO (more advanced version). 

 

Speaker works everywhere and it reads clipboard contents.

 



-------------------------

www.speechproductivity.eu 


Auto Box - SP Editor - HyperNotes - Pause Reminder - Speaker - Quick Correct - Easy Guide to Dragon Scripting

 11/10/2020 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38372
Joined: 10/01/2006

                    Welcome (See Mission Statement)

 

Yes. We believe Nuance accidentally disabled the READ THAT command so that it now only works in Dragon friendly environments. Fortunately you can put it back. If you are using KnowBrainer, just say READ THAT because it works pretty much everywhere, like it should. If you're not using KnowBrainer, you do not need it or any 3rd party utility. Just add the following KnowBrainer command to Dragon as an Advanced-Scripting command. This command works better as a DVC script so open the Dragon Command Browser, single Left Click on 1 of the Mouse commands followed by clicking New Copy. Now delete the contents of the script and replace it with the following script. You can also name your global command Read That and note that KnowBrainer includes 10 variations of this command.


SetMicrophone 0

Wait 200

SendKeys "{Ctrl+c}"

Wait 500

SendKeys "{Right}"

Wait 250

TTSPlayString ""

Wait 1000

SetMicrophone 1

 

 



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 11/11/2020 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 986
Joined: 04/03/2009

Does this imply that TTSPlayString plays the contents of the clipboard if given a null string?

-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 11/11/2020 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7399
Joined: 03/04/2007

Originally posted by: Edgar Does this imply that TTSPlayString plays the contents of the clipboard if given a null string?

 

Yes, this is how it is documented.

 



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 11/11/2020 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38372
Joined: 10/01/2006

The various KnowBrainer READ THAT commands will play back any text that is copied to the clipboard or remains in the clipboard; in the event that KnowBrainer is unable to overwrite the latest clipboard contents.

-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 11/12/2020 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alexxis
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/10/2020

Thanks for all the answers. Another question occurred to me. Is Dragon unable to put text I dictate in Wordpress textboxes? Is it possible to force functionality so I can dictate in Wordpress?

 11/12/2020 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1224
Joined: 08/16/2010

From this article I understand that you can but I suspect that it's only so-called "dumb dictating".

 

There are also ways to force short sentences via open ended voice commands or other techniques. But that is not the same as full Select-and-Say control where you can actually edit every element of the contents completely by voice (without ever having to use the mouse to select text). This is particularly important with longer dictations that need proofreading/editing before landing in the WordPress text boxes.

 

For this you can either use the Dragon dictation box or look into the SP Standard or PRO Dictation Boxes. Our recent Quit Box is an interesting alternative because it combines force functionality with full Select-and-Say control.



-------------------------

www.speechproductivity.eu 


Auto Box - SP Editor - HyperNotes - Pause Reminder - Speaker - Quick Correct - Easy Guide to Dragon Scripting

 11/12/2020 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38372
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: Alexxis Thanks for all the answers. Another question occurred to me. Is Dragon unable to put text I dictate in Wordpress textboxes? Is it possible to force functionality so I can dictate in Wordpress?

 

 

Our personal preference is DragonCapture which allows you to directly dictate into WordPress without having to cut and paste from a Dictation Box. Of course you won't have actual Select-&-Say editing but if you add KnowBrainer 2017 (w/2020 AI Commands), you have pseudo-Select-&-Say (the ability to verbally select text) plus the ability to directly correct & edit. Direct Dictation vs Dictation Box approaches both have advantages and Rüdiger Wilke, the DragonCapture developer, is also in Germany.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 11/13/2020 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7399
Joined: 03/04/2007

It seems to depend on your browser. I have no problem dictating into WordPress textboxes both in my webpage setup and in the webpage itself. I use Microsoft Edge with the Dragon extension enabled, and it seems like the Full Text Control indicator (green dot) on the Dragon bar is on in every textbox on any page, as far as I can tell.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Speech Recognition » Dragon 15 "Read That" issues

Statistics
31891 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 644 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 644 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.