KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.
Topic Summary: out of the blue, this happens, nothing works
Created On: 03/07/2020 01:59 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 03/07/2020 01:59 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - R. Wilke - 03/07/2020 02:12 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 03/07/2020 02:15 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/07/2020 04:18 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - R. Wilke - 03/07/2020 03:11 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 03/07/2020 06:52 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/08/2020 12:55 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 03/08/2020 02:08 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 12:28 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 12:55 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/18/2022 01:46 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 04:49 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 05:04 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/18/2022 05:18 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 05:28 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 05:49 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/18/2022 06:49 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 05:54 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - R. Wilke - 07/18/2022 08:17 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/18/2022 08:34 PM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/19/2022 11:59 AM  
 The speech engine returned the following error: Failed.   - Ric - 07/20/2022 12:57 PM  
Keyword
 03/07/2020 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7897
Joined: 03/04/2007

This error message is as unspecific as a Corona flu (according to Trump) infection, which however isn't a reals issue in the US, again according to Trump.

When does it happen? Can you even load the profile? Either way, if you haven't changed a thing, the problem may be with the profile, and if you can load it, you might try switching to a backup.


-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 03/07/2020 02:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

can't load profile at all now, R Wilke. hoping to avoid restoring, as i just noticed it hasnt done so in 3 weeks, and i hate to lose profile data edits since

-------------------------

Ric M

 03/07/2020 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try switching to your backup user profile which you will find detailed in the Quick Tips button at the top of this page. After you open the Quick Tips PDF, search for or press {Ctrl+f} “switching” as an switching to your backup user profile.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 03/07/2020 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7897
Joined: 03/04/2007

If you can't load the profile, the profile is broken, and that's the reason for the error message. Perhaps it should be mentioned that there are a lot of worse things which might happen than losing three weeks of data. You will have to restore a backup taken while it was working at any event, or else you will lose just everything related to the previous profile. If you don't know how, just ask. Depending on the situation, there are different ways of doing it.



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage



 03/07/2020 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

Thanks, Lunis and R. I tried one more computer restart before going to the trouble of using a backup user profile and, without even waving a magic wand, it's suddenly working normally. Which is good, because my most recent backup was not recent!

-------------------------

Ric M

 03/08/2020 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

While you were lucky, you really don't want to fully depend on a Dragon backup. We recommend scheduling a monthly backup in your calendar and manually backing up your profile to a different hard drive or the cloud.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 03/08/2020 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

yes you are right, lewdness (LOL, I blame DNS for that! - I've now added your name to the vocabulary). I mean Lunis. I was lucky this time. I've set up a calendar reminder and will follow your guidance there on regularly, manually backing it up. Ric

-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

Reviving thread. it's happening again: "speech engine returned the following error: Failed." i have a recent full profile backup from 5 days ago and loaded it, but as soon as i tried to use it again, it gave the same error message again. Any chance the issue is with something other than the profile? I've been using DNS hours daily since the last backup and with no problems until just now. So logic suggests that the 5 days old backup was healthy. Are we chasing the wrong diagnosis? thanks.

-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

plot just thickened.  tried a full sys restart and Dragon NaturallySpeaking now says this. 



-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try opening your %LOCALAPPDATA%\Nuance\NS15\Users\[your user name] and empty the contents of your tb folder. This folder should be empty. If this doesn't solve the issue, you'll need to switch to your backup user profile, which is named “backup”. Keep in mind that the backup user profile is overwritten every 5 saves so if you're not lucky, you will need to create a new user profile, unless you have another backup.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 07/18/2022 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

things going fr bad to worse... When your proposed solution (TB delete) didnt help, i figured I'd start from scratch; uninstalled, used DragonRemover.exe, went back to v14 but install failed. tried clean install of 15.6, but it failed repeatedly. some of the error messages attached.  I'm now trying to install 15.0 to see if at least that will work. 



-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

update: 15.0 installed successfully.  it immediately asked me to download/install 15.6.  But even though i completely uninstalled any and all instances of 15.6 before installing 15.0, it acts as though 15.6 is already on the pc, displaying the modify-repair-remove dialogue box, as though 15.6 is already there.  ??? 



-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

It sounds like you made all the right moves but have you tried the Repair option rather than the default Modify option? If that doesn't work, try the Remove option and then reinstall 15.61



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 07/18/2022 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

damn. still no go.  15.6 acted as though it successfully installed when i picked the "Modify" option.  but now it will not start up when i doubleclick desktop shortcut.  it acts like it starts, gives no error message, but never loads.  i ctrl-alt-del'd and Dragon NaturallySpeaking is running.... just no way to invoke it.   

 

Sincerely, 

 

WitsEnd 



-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

have i ever told you how much i hate hate HATE DNS, more so every day? 

 

"Repair" made it possible to launch DNS, but then it gives the attached error message about elevated privs needed. so i start the app with right-click admin privs and it says i can't!   

 

I'm trying install-repair again but with admim-rt-click .... TBD






-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

The only thing we can think of is uninstalling your current installation 1st, if possible, and then running DragonRemover (removes any version or edition of Dragon) Ver. 15.61 does not remove your user profiles. You are Ver. 15.3 or 15.0 user address is %PROGRAMDATA%\Nuance\NaturallySpeaking15\Users\



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 07/18/2022 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

no go. failed again. "requires elevation" message again

-------------------------

Ric M

 07/18/2022 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7897
Joined: 03/04/2007

If 15.61 was installed as a patch, it cannot be repaired.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 07/18/2022 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

it doesnt appear to be giving me a choice: each time i do a full uninstall, including dragon remover, the reinstall does not succeed and brings up the aforementioned error messages.  and endless loop of never installing if it forces a repair/modify restart.   



-------------------------

Ric M

 07/19/2022 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40110
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try downloading DPI 15.61 again. We now suspect you have a corrupted download, which is more common than you might think. If your broadband isn't quite fast enough, we offer a 16 Gb USB 3 Flash Drive



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 07/20/2022 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric
Advanced Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 10/13/2006

omg, It appears that a bad download might indeed be what was preventing me from successfully reinstalling Dragon. I downloaded 15.6 once again (third time) and now it's working. I'm actually FINALLY functioning once again with Dragon on my desktop PC. Efforts to get it back and running cost me more than a day's work, but at least it's back. Thanks! 



-------------------------

Ric M

Statistics
32359 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 406 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 406 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.