KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Question About Word Processors
Topic Summary: Which word processors are compatible with DNS v15.3?
Created On: 01/05/2021 12:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Question About Word Processors   - gcarson - 01/05/2021 12:34 PM  
 Question About Word Processors   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/05/2021 12:56 PM  
 Question About Word Processors   - gcarson - 01/05/2021 01:46 PM  
 Question About Word Processors   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/05/2021 02:30 PM  
 Question About Word Processors   - dilligence - 01/05/2021 09:05 PM  
 Question About Word Processors   - kcshaw - 01/05/2021 11:46 PM  
Keyword
 01/05/2021 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


gcarson
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 210
Joined: 09/18/2007

Hello

I need a new word processor but skimming through the forum gave me the impression that nothing really works all that well with Dragon right now.

I don't want to subscribe to Office 365. Seems like a blatant ripoff for one thing, not to mention that I don't need the full Office suite. I did notice, however, that you can still buy standalone versions of Office 2019 for a decent price.

Is DNS v15.3 compatible and stable with Word 2019? My needs are pretty simple. I produce long manuscripts (70K words or longer), text only, with no special formatting except centered chapter titles, double-spacing, full justification, very basic stuff like that.

Are there any other word processors that work with 15.3? Also, could I use DragonCapture to dictate directly into my current word processor, LibreOffice Writer, which is totally incompatible with DNS?

Thanks for any advice.



-------------------------

HP Envy Desktop 750-624. Windows 10 Home. Dragon Professional Individual 15.3. Knowbrainer purchases: Philips 9600 DPM, Knowbrainer headset microphone (several), Samson Airline 77 wireless headset, Olympus DS5000id, Olympus DS3500, Knowbrainer 2008 (no longer in use), Parrott Half Duplex VXI USB Sound Pod

 01/05/2021 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38506
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: gcarson

1. Is DNS v15.3 compatible and stable with Word 2019?

2. Are there any other word processors that work with 15.3? Also,

3. Could I use DragonCapture to dictate directly into my current word processor, LibreOffice Writer, which is totally incompatible with DNS?

 



1. Not unless you update to Ver. 15.61 which additionally includes our Installation/User Guide (including details on fixing 3 dozen sandtraps) and lots of other perks. Note that because of the complexity involved, we are charging a $20 service fee

2. Standalone WordPerfect X9 and possibly WordPerfect XX. You already have DragonPad and WordPad but they are not as richly featured.

3. DragonCapture will work in anything but is not ideally suited to long documents. While you will likely find DragonCapture handy for all kinds of work, like dictating into your favorite browser's address field, you should only consider a Dragon friendly word processor for your extensive dictation work. Select-&-Say is of the utmost importance and only works in Dragon friendly environments. We would additionally recommend KnowBrainer 2017 because of time-saving commands; many which are written specifically for writers.

 

RECOMMENDATION: Purchase a local installation of Microsoft Word and forget about the other choices. Professionals choose professional tools and while some free Select-&-Say word processors will work, we suspect you are only thinking about dictation. A major part the writing equation consists of editing and maneuvering commands. Dragon only command supports Microsoft Word and WordPerfect. However, the problem with WordPerfect is that Corel frequently introduces a new release that is never Dragon friendly.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 01/05/2021 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


gcarson
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 210
Joined: 09/18/2007

Thanks. I'd like to use a local installation of Word, but I thought this was no longer available (??)



-------------------------

HP Envy Desktop 750-624. Windows 10 Home. Dragon Professional Individual 15.3. Knowbrainer purchases: Philips 9600 DPM, Knowbrainer headset microphone (several), Samson Airline 77 wireless headset, Olympus DS5000id, Olympus DS3500, Knowbrainer 2008 (no longer in use), Parrott Half Duplex VXI USB Sound Pod



 01/05/2021 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38506
Joined: 10/01/2006

Check Microsoft Wird 2019 and you have any doubts, use PayPal to guarantee your purchase. We cannot assure you that this offer is not pirated but we believe you can also find local Microsoft Word installations on the manufacturer website. All you have to do is Google



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 01/05/2021 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1263
Joined: 08/16/2010

Alternatively you can download Apache Open Office 4.1.6 which fully supports Dragon Select-and-Say control (but not voice Menu/Button etc. control).

It's completely free and it does not appear to have the annoying "jumping cursor" problem that MS Word has (well not as much anyway).

 

Make sure though to download the correct version (the latest versions don't support Dragon anymore):

 

 



-------------------------

www.speechproductivity.eu 


Auto Box - SP Editor - HyperNotes - Hotkeys for Dragon - Quick Correct - Press Utility - Easy Guide to Dragon Scripting

 01/05/2021 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kcshaw
New Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/05/2021

LibreOffice Writer (version 6.4.7) works fine with Dragon Pro (v15.30) for me -- you just have to remember to install the 32 bit version of LibreOffice, not 64 bit. I don't do anything complicated with it, and use very few commands, so there may be issues I don't notice. Last time I tried the 64 bit version there were annoying issues with trying to select & edit (at the very least), tho as I recall just straight dictation was functioning. But it was annoying enough that I rapidly went back to 32 bit even with my relatively limited requirements. I'm not aware of the 32 bit version of LibreOffice missing anything significant or having significant performance issues for typical users, so the trade "down" is probably a zero loss from that point of view.
Statistics
31940 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 629 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 629 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.